Oh! I almost forgot!!

robots_big.jpg

This is the project I couldn’t reveal a few posts ago because it was a present for my long-lost friend (and the only boy I have ever actually gone out on a “date” with, in grade nine) Rob! He is something of an artist/crafter (/musician/computer genius), and as we got back in touch with each other around the same time he moved into a new apartment, I wanted to make him a cool, handmade housewarming present. He collects vintage robots, and takes awesome photographs of them hanging out and being in love and stuff. I adore them. So I wanted to make something robot-themed as an homage, but I didn’t think I had the skillz to, like, paint a picture of them or anything. So…

My first foray into felting!

I ordered a bunch of Knitpicks Wool of the Andes (hello cheap!) and got myself a set of 8mm circulars. Over the course of a few movies, I knitted the heads in the round (knitknitknitknitknitknit) until I thought they were probably long enough to deal with the vertical shrinking I knew would happen. I thought briefly about knitting the eyes etc into the cushion, but in the end decided it wasn’t worth the herculean effort necessary to try and figure out the exact shrinkage ratios for each element etc. and instead just knit up a pile of different-coloured single-colour washclothes, sized according to my anticipated needs, to be cut into the appropriate shapes and appliquéd on. And they worked out!

There are a lot of mods I would make for my next pair (step one: obtain knitting machine), but all in all I’m pretty proud of my first effort in felting, appliqué and cushion-making. I had only gotten to the (3-D) noses before it was time for out get-together, so I brought over my pre-cut pieces and we did most of the finishing together, which was so much fun. These robot cushions make me so happy, and my head was so swelled with Rob’s praise by the time I left I’m surprised I fit it in my little car to go home!

I have so many more ideas for cushion designs (and sweater designs, and beaded purse designs, and and and) but they will have to wait. The paper-that-must-not-be-mentioned is my final research paper for my MA (not a thesis, but still much bigger and more intense than anything I’ve ever written), and while it’s actually going quite well, it’s also going more slowly than I anticipated. Ironically, it’s going slowly because I’m honestly fascinated by my topic (“indie” music/scenes, rock journalism and Chart magazine — a Canadian music magazine that’s been around since the 90s) and I can’t seem to stop thinking and reading about and researching it. I keep uncovering new theories and sources and thinking, “how could I even THINK of writing my paper without referencing THAT!” To be fair, I’m moving at the same pace (or slightly faster) than most other grad student I know, but I’m feeling a lot of pressure to Finish This School Nonsense and get myself a Good, Steady Job. Mostly from myself. Ah well. It’ll be done when it’s done. And when it is, I’ll be a MASTER OF ROCK!! I just hope that it’s done soon, it’s really starting to interfere with my knitting. :p

