As this is my very first post to my very first knitting blog, I might as well admit right away that I knit by the seat of my pants. Despite being a relative newbie to the craft, I just can’t make myself knit from a pattern. This is not to say that I invent every knitting technique or motif I use; on the contrary, I scour the internet and magazines for things I like, then combine a bunch of things together and see what comes out.

The latest thing to emerge from this morass of heavy ideas and light skill is what I have just now dubbed my “flying gloves”, in an homage to my seat-of-my-pants knitting style. As soon as I chose the name for this blog, any chance I had of pretending not to be a pun-loving nerd was shot anyway, so here we are. Craft blogs are supposed to be less personally revealing than normal ones, but I can already see I’m going to have trouble toeing this line. Ah well.

The Flying Gloves!

flying gloves
Materials:

2 skeins Koigu Kersti Merino Crepe, #335 (for slightly shorter version, only 1 skein is necessary)

4.25mm DPN

stitch markers

When I started knitting these gloves, I had no idea how much yardage they would take, so I knit each one from a different skein to be on the safe side and resigned myself to leftovers. In the end, I had about three-sevenths of a skein left, so if I had planned more carefully I probably could have knit two *quite long enough* gloves from only one skein of Koigu. What I eventually did with the leftovers was knit a pair of shorter and smaller gloves for my 12-year-old cousin. If you can think of something to use a near-skein of Koigu for after you’re done, go ahead and knit the pattern with as many repeats as I did. Or heck, throw in a few more of your own and make the gloves even longer! If, however, you are a yarn miser, cut out three pattern repeats and they’ll be plenty long enough. Here, I even did the math for you:

1 full skein of Koigu Kersti Merino Crepe = 50g

1 long glove, made with 10.5 pattern repeats = 27g

2.5 pattern repeats (that is, the little leftover ball) = 3g

therefore, 1 long glove, made with 8 pattern repeats = 24g, with 1g of safety

All these measurements were done with my mom’s old-and-slightly-crappy not-digital “Diet Scale”, so please take them with a grain of salt. I will be knitting up another couple of pairs of gloves for my other two girlcousins when my new Koigu arrives, so I’ll make adjustments as necessary. However, to skip right to the pattern:

FLYING GLOVES PATTERN,
FOR PEOPLE WHO AREN’T INTO THE WHOLE BREVITY THING

Cast on 36 stitches. As always, being careful not to twist stitches, work 10 rows of k1p1 rib in the round. You can cheat and do eight if you want, but I will admit to you right now that I only did eight the first time and ended up frogging more or less a completed glove (minus the thumb) because I decided the rib was too short. I recommend ten rows.

Now it’s time to start working with the Leyburn Sock pattern. If you look carefully, you’ll notice that although the diamonds are written in groups of 6, there is an extra stitch at the end of the pattern. So you’ll need to do a “make one” increase just before you start. This will be your first stitch in the pattern. Depending on how much yarn you have/how brave you are, work either 3 or 4 repeats of the pattern (24-32 rows).

When you think your wrist is long enough, it’s time to start doing the palm. Knit to the end of a pattern repeat (or in the middle of a pattern repeat, if you’re feeling saucy), meaning that you will be ending on a plain knit row. Let’s start with right-hand glove first. When you start the new row in pattern, begin with a M1 stitch, and place a stitch marker after it (preferably in a different colour to the sm you use to mark the beginning of the row). This is your thumb gusset increase stitch marker. So now you have

(starting stitch marker) (new stitch) (thumb gusset stitch marker)

Then knit 12 sts plain. At the end of the 12 plain stitches, place another stitch marker (any colour; this section is easy enough to distinguish). Then knit in pattern to the end of the repeat. Knit the next row completely plain, just as it calls for in the pattern; don’t make any increases this round. Only make increases in the rows you “do something” (ie slip or pick up). I found increasing on the side closest to the palm/furthest from the thumb made the nicest V shape. Once you have 12 gusset stitches, take them off the dpns and slip them, live, onto waste yarn. Then join the back of the hand and the palm together in the round, continuing to knit the palm plain and the back in pattern.

At this point, it’s up to you how far you knit. For the long pair I made, I knit two and a half pattern repeats before going back into the rib, and I sometimes feel that was a bit excessive. You can totally get away with one or 1.5 pattern repeats. It depends on how far you want it to come up over your fingers, really; the higher the finger cuff extends, the more useless your fingers in it are. So keep that in mind. After you’ve gone as far as you want in pattern, finish off with a few rows of k1p1 rib (I did 5) and bind off fairly loosely. Congratulations! You’re ready to do the thumb gusset!

For the thumbs, slip the stitches back onto the dpns and, additionally, pick up two, three or four stitches from the body of the glove (depending on your thumb size; three is a sensible compromise. The thumb gusset doesn’t take long to complete, so you can re-knit it if you choose your number of pickups unwisely). Knit plain in the round four or five rows (depending on personal taste/comfort), and bind off fairly loosely again.

Weave in all ends, and enjoy!!

Remember, when doing the left hand, the instructions are reversed. So what you would do is, when you get to where you want to start the plain palm, NOT make one BUT INSTEAD knit 12 plain, place stitch marker and make 1. Then add the other stitch marker to mark where the pattern repeats begin, and knit away. Again, increases look best on the palm side rather than the thumb side, so you will knit 12/make 1/knit plain to pattern/knit in pattern.

Hope that makes sense even slightly. I’m sorry I don’t have a lot of pics for this, but I’m eagerly awaiting a little package of Koigu from which I will be knitting more gloves, so maybe I’ll come back and add some in later. I didn’t have a blog when I was making these, so I didn’t take any in-production shots.

Handy tip: You can always tell where the pattern begins because it’s the only point where you’ll see two columns of knit stitches separating the diamonds. See?

two-at-the-start.jpg

I put a few more pics up on my Flickr page with some descriptions, so you can look there too.

My first craft blog post. It only took me…all day to create. So worthwhile.

