What The Lady wants, The Lady gets…

“The rules of the game get posted at the beginning. Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.”

Sadly, although this meme is not necessarily boring in and of itself, most of my answers are. So I’m going to throw in a few pictures of the results of my acid dyeing adventure down at Lettuce Knit last Friday to try and spice it up a bit, not least because I suffered from the dreaded camnesia during the fun bits, and only have pics of the end result! Can two slightly boring posts come together to make one reasonably interesting post? We’ll see!

1) 10 years ago, I was:

finishing up Grade 12 in high school, which isn’t terribly exciting as back in the day, we went up to OAC (fka Grade 13), so I still had a year to go. Actually, now that I think of it, Grade 12 was a pretty eventful year for me, for kind of strange reasons. A friend of mine started dating this guy, and although the relationship didn’t last, the “merger” of our friendship groups did. At least for me. I rarely see those girlfriends anymore, but I hang out/hear from those “other” friends quite regularly. One of them even came with me to Glasgow where we shared a flat for a year and ate a lot of toast and soup. Pretty awesome.

This is merino/cashmere/nylon roving, dyed with acid dye at Lettuce Knit’s dyeing studio. The pink is 90% red/10% blue, and the green is (I think) 80% yellow and 20% blue. The brown is a mixture of the pink and the green, and the little spots of violet are probably from Brooke’s Aubergine Dream leaking over onto my fibre! :P I meant to dye my roving with really dark, saturated colours, but since I usually added vinegar to the fibre bath, I totally forgot to add it to the dye solution! I realized this most of the way through the steaming process, so Kim (aka indigodragonfly) and I had to pull it out of the pot and stick it in a warm vinegar bath. Since we were already way overtime, it didn’t get to stay in quite as long as it might have needed for all the dye to exhaust, but I’m perfectly satisfied with how it turned out. It’s a lot more…erm…pink than I expected, tho…I wish the green had been darker and more abundant. Ah well, it’s still pretty. To continue my Unoriginal Colourway Name trend, I have christened this roving Rose Garden. A little more rose than garden, perhaps, but here we are.

2) 5 things on my to-do list for today:

It’s almost bedtime, so I’ll put my To Do list for tomorrow:

Drive Grant to work at 6am (god, we need our own car!)
Write copyediting test
Put first coat of paint on mom’s front room
Spin up the rest of the Rose Garden fibre (and find a good lacy pattern for it!)
Buy a dvd for my parents

3) Snacks I enjoy:

I have recently discovered a deep and abiding love of Pocky, particularly “Men’s” Pocky (bittersweet chocolate). Other things I’ve thought about eating today include Vegetable Thins, strawberries, and Cherry Blasters. I hated salsa as a kid, but now I can’t get enough (especially with multigrain Tostitos!), although pretzels have always been there fore me. Damnit, I knew I shouldn’t have started this list just before dinner!! mmm…ketchup chips…

Here’s some of the fibre, all drafted out and ready to be spun into singles. This picture makes some of the dye look peachy, but there’s no peach in it at all, just paler pinks and browns.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

I could write a really big complicated practical answer, full of plans involving living off interest percentages and real estate investments, but I think what the question is asking is what one would do if given total financial freedom, so I’ll answer it that way.

I’d probably buy a big, open, light-filled studio apartment downtown somewhere where I could keep my (imaginary) Majacraft Rose, (imaginary) pottery wheel (and pottery accoutrements), and my easel and paints. Ooh, I’d probably splash out on oil paints, too (although I do love my pretty acrylics). Oh, and I’d have to have room for a little dyeing studio, and a sewing corner. The place would be totally trashed, but it’d be my heaven.

And we’d have a cottage on a quiet, sparsely-populated lake somewhere, where I’d never have to worry about people spying on me when I went down for my early-morning (/after-dinner/before bedtime) skinny dip!

Hmm, not much charitable work there…I’d have to think about that part some more. Maybe establish and donate another facility like the Cedar Ridge Creative Centre? I loved that place when I went to summer camp there as a kid. God, I just don’t know what I’d do! There’d definitely be some Food Bank donations…probably donations to women’s shelters, too…I really have no idea. And it’s kind of stressing me out to think of it: a billion dollars! And I have to decide what to do with it, and who gets some, and who doesn’t! I’m starting to see why so many rich people are so unhappy…

I’d love the things I listed above, but honestly, I’m very happy as I am. A hell of a lot more privileged than most people on this earth, I know, but what I’ve got is honest, and more than enough. I don’t think I’d buy more yarn, either; I’m serious when I say that having too much of it around weighs on my creative conscience!

5) Places I have lived:

Scarborough, Ontario
Kingston, Ontario
Glasgow, Scotland
Ottawa, Ontario
Melbourne, Australia

6) Jobs I have had:

My dad started working from home as a consultant when I was about 15, and pretty much all of my working experience has been helping him out. Every year I got a little more responsibility, and for the last few years I have been his full-on assistant, organizing the files and putting together submissions to the government etc etc. It’s not necessarily the work I would choose to do, but it’s hard for me to quit since I know how disorganized it gets when I’m not around (despite the other help he’s had in) and how much he needs me. So that’s pretty much my job history, except for a few weeks in Glasgow when I worked at a photo developing shop, which was pretty fun until my last day when I accidentally lost track of a couple of rolls of film from two big (separate) orders (the fact it was my last day was completely separate from the mix-up; it wasn’t my last day because I was fired or anything! Although that would make a funnier story…)

Here’s my first skein of singles, all spun up and washed. I had at first intended to ply the yarn, but I’m afraid it might muddy the colours, so I’m going to keep it as a single. It’s fairly even, ranging between fingering and sport weight, and I figure I’ll have about 500-600 yards when it’s all spun and done. Now I need to find a lace pattern that won’t fight with either the colours or the thicker-and-thinner nature of the yarn (both of which I adore!) I’m thinking either a pretty stole or a small baby blanket. Any suggestions?

7) Bloggers I am tagging who I will enjoy getting to know better:

The toughest question, by far. Let’s see…I’ll tag my LK dyeing girls (except Indigodragonfly, since like most folk I read, she’s already been tagged):

Giftable

Little Knittin Kitten

aaaaaaand…you. You’re it!! Three of you. There. Five. Done and done.

